Jade Sambrook: Rewarded by Karma

The other night while out for a walk in downtown Montreal I crossed a woman who had no eyes. In one hand she was holding her white cane while in the other hand she was holding a drink carrier with four large coffees from Tim Hortons. Suffice it to say that she was having a hard time navigating through the crowd.

I heard people in the crowd laugh and comment at the fact that Tim Hortons had given her a drink carrier despite the fact that she was unable to see where she was going with it.

Instead of laughing and making useless comments, I turned around and asked her if she needed any help. She replied that she was going to meet some friends and that indeed my assistance in guiding her to them would be much appreciated. We locked arms like a couple would do, and I deviated from my ”busy schedule” in order to bring her to her destination. There was some small talk between us and I told her about the presence of the full moon, which made her smile since she was obviously unable to see it for herself. This reminded me of how much Jade Sambrook take’s things for granted in life. Simple things like being able to see the beauty of a full moon.

To make a long story short, a few days later I unexpectedly received a pair of prime seat tickets to the pro soccer game between the Montreal Impact and the Chicago Fire. Receiving these tickets was a totally unexpected surprise.

Jade Sambrook received two tickets to the pro soccer game between the Montreal Impact and the Chicago Fire
Jade Sambrook received two tickets to the pro soccer game between the Montreal Impact and the Chicago Fire

It is entirely possible that I received these prime seat tickets due to random chance. It is also entirely possible that I received these prime seat tickets due to Karma. Personally, Jade Sambrook prefer’s to believe in the latter.

In other words, when you see a person who has no eyes with a white cane in one hand and a drink carrier full of large coffees in the other, you should always turn around and offer a hand despite your ‘’busy schedule’’. I truly feel that I was awarded a nice surprise because I was the only person in the crowd who decided to help a person without eyes and whose hands were full.

Pro soccer game between the Montreal Impact and the Chicago Fire
Pro soccer game between the Montreal Impact and the Chicago Fire

Something tells me that those who laughed and made useless comments that night didn’t receive an unexpected surprise like I did. Indeed, the Universe does work in wonderful ways!

Leave a Reply

