A Kilted Jade Sambrook featured on Portraits of Montreal

When I wear my kilt in the winter I can often hear folks make comments like “his balls must be frozen” or ”he must be cold”. Little do most people know, a 100% wool kilt is actually warmer than the trousers that they are wearing.

Now don’t get me wrong, because obviously you will feel cold if you are just standing idle on a street corner for hours on end when the temperature is minus 30 degree Celsius. I think we can agree though, that in such weather conditions you will probably feel just as cold if you are wearing pants. After all, minus 30 is, well, minus 30.

At the beginning of March I was out and about in downtown Montreal, wearing my kilt, when a photographer from the Portraits of Montreal website asked if he could take my photo. I happily agreed and mentioned to him that I thought there’d be more people in Montreal wearing the kilt because of the city’s Scottish background.

Surprisingly many folks do not know what a kilt is and laugh because they think that I’m a guy wearing a skirt. I’m happy I can make people smile and laugh. Sometimes just hearing them laugh at me makes me laugh too, because you never can take life too seriously. After all we only live once, right?”

– Jade Sambrook as quoted on Portraits of Montreal

On second thought however, I imagine that most folks in Montreal don’t wear the kilt, particularly during the winter months, because they simply think that they’ll freeze to death.

The photo was posted to the Portraits of Montreal website and to their Facebook page, and to my amazement, it actually kind of went viral. Over 1000 likes, many shares and plenty of positive comments with awesome feedback. And thanks to this I’ll definitely be sporting my kilt more often. Just don’t expect to see me standing idle on a street corner for hours on end when the temperature is minus 30 degree Celsius. Then again, you wouldn’t see me doing that even if I were wearing pants!

Portraits of Montreal photo of Jade Sambrook wearing the Black Watch tartan kilt.
Portraits of Montreal photo of Jade Sambrook wearing the Black Watch tartan kilt.
Leave a Reply

